Newbie first GUI won't build with VS Comm 2017

JUCE newbie here. I can’t get my first coached app built in MS Vis Studio Community 2017. I get this error message very early in the build process:

1>------ Build started: Project: First_App, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2017\Community\Common7\IDE\VC\VCTargets\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(358,5): error : Element has an invalid value of “stdcpp17”.
1>Done building project “First_App.vcxproj” – FAILED.

Can anyone please help me fix this problem?

I installed JUCE 7.0.5 to be used with my long installed MS Vis Studio Community 2017. I followed the “Getting Started” instructions to create a GUI application using the defaults (made sure I selected MS Vis Studio 2017). Then I went to Vis Studio to build the project (as instructed in Getting Started) and I hit this brick wall. It seems I might have a version compatibility problem but I don’t know how to solve it.

Thanks, John.

a) is there a reason you are using an older version of Visual Studio? 6 years old, and 2 new versions since then
b) I’m not sure vs2017 supports c++17. if nothing else, it looks like the option to select it may have changed. in vs2017 it looks like you use std:c++17, where newer versions of VS use stdcpp17

Thanks for answering.

a) I’m using VS2017 because I have it installed and have been using it for years. Juce claims to be compatible so I decided not to upgrade. Visual Studio is a massive download and installation process including a huge footprint. It’s to be avoided if it’s not necessary.
b) Semantically, std:c++17 appears to be the same as stdcpp17. Textually, yes, they are different. Is there a way to change that in VS2017? Please advise.