ProJucer - where to now?

Hi All

Over the last few releases ProJucer has been increasingly buggy for visual editing. I came to the forum to check on others experience and after some digging I learn that the GUI editor is being or has been deprecated?

I must have missed the memo. Having a wysiwg GUI editor is a must for my workflow.

Can someone enlighten me (and perhaps others) as to what the status is of projucer (currently shipped as buggy part of JUCE) and what alternatives there are for GUI editing?

Does this also mean automated project creation handling multiple configurations is going away?

Thanks in anticipation

Don

huh? i was told the gui editor of the projucer was deprecated already before i started programming plugins entirely, which is more than 3 years ago

As far as I know that part of the Projucer hasn’t been updated in donkey’s years. It still works fine in terms of project creation, although many people prefer to use CMake these days. In terms of a GUI editor, you may want to look at Plugin Gui Magic.

1 Like

The Projucer is used as a command line tool in lots of CI/CD pipelines to generate compiler/IDE projects, that part of the Projucer will certainly not be ditched in the coming few years.

1 Like

I’m sorry that not having a WYSIWYG GUI editor is impacting your workflow, and that we evidently haven’t communicated this clear enough.

Our experience is that very few users rely on this feature as these kind of editors don’t often lend themselves well to making responsive GUIs and users find they quite quickly hit limitations with what they are capable of doing, to cater for all possible scenarios would be huge task for the team to take on. Therefore we strongly recommend using the FlexBox and/or Grid classes, see our tutorial here.