Quick question regarding VST and MacOS

Hello,

I’ve written an audio plugin with C++ and Juce and it’s kind of in an early beta stage. Now I run Windows 10 and my project compiles an VST file that I simply copy into the right folder and my DAW loads the plugin just fine. I’m still run the “Debug” mode.

I gave the VST file my friend who uses a Mac and he says he can’t install the plugin, it’s “empty”. So my quick question: Is there something else I must do, or is it required on Mac to build a package like described here? ttps://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_app_plugin_packaging.html

Maybe I just missing one thing, so I’d would be nice if someone could show me what it is :slight_smile:

Thank you in advance

P.S: Sorry, I have no experience with Mac products at all :see_no_evil:

You will need to build the plugin on macOS, using the Windows file will not work.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.

So that means I need a Mac machine, install the IDE and everything, compile it and the resulting VST file is for Mac?

Yes.

2 Likes

Ok, I’ve installed Mac OS Catalina 64x in a virtual machine - and it’s working. I was able to setup XCode and Juce and to compile my audio plugin without error. It generated an output folder for the VST3 plugin, and it looks like this:

• *.vst3 file with only 2kb
  • *.component file with only 2kb
  • *.a file which is bigger, looks like the content is here

I only try to build a VST3, no other format (AU, AAX etc.).

Now under Windows 10, I simply can “install” the VST3 file (put it in the right folder) and my DAW can read it and it works fine. Under Mac, it seems like that approach does not work. I’ve even sent those 3 files to my buddy with macOS and he can’t get it to run with that. So is there an additional step for macOS?

I thought it’s optional to build a package / installer --> https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_app_plugin_packaging.html