Signing AAX plugin, do I need the iLok USB?

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to AAX. I managed to successfully built my AAX plugin and I want to test it with Pro Tools Ultimate. I get this error: "Plug-Ins failed to load because they are not valid 64 bitAAX plugins"
It seems it is because my AAX is not signed using the iLok USB key.
Do I HAVE TO sign my plugin with this iLok USB key in order to test my plugin? Is there any other way for me to see if I can just test my AAX plugin with Pro Tools?
Do I have to order the iLok key? Any idea?
I would really appreciate it.

Regards,

You should be able to use an iLok Cloud session with Eden signing tools authorized to the cloud credentials instead

1 Like

Thanks @kcoul
I opened my iLok License Manager and Logged into my iLok Account, went to File and opened Cloud Session.
Now in my cloud session I can see that I have Eden Tools. But how can I use it? How can I sign my AAX?
In my available Licenses, I can see I still have PACE Central Access and when I try to drap it from right to left, it tells me that the valid location is iLok 2nd and later Generation, etc.
All I need is to sign my AAX plugin and see if that works so I can move on without having to pay the iLok USB key.

Thanks a lot. Any help is really appreciated.

Have a look in your AAX SDK, there are some pdf documents describing the signing process.
I don’t know if that can be shared in public because of the NDA.

Also a good place to look at is in the iLok LicenseManager the Pace Central button.

Hi @daniel
Thanks for the reply.
I just checked the documentation in the AAX SDK. It seems I DO need to have the iLok USB key.
For iLok LecenseManager, What can I do with the Pace Central? I cannot see any button.
I would really really appreciate it if you could guide me through this.

My bad, this is one of the few cases where a physical iLok is required, probably for legacy-related reasons.