Signing AAX with YubiKey [SOLVED]

Hello,

I have been using PACE to sign my AAX plugins for a few years, and I have now migrated to using a Yubikey for code signing due to the industry changes.

I am having trouble using the wraptool.exe to sign with my new USB dongle. I have added the --signid command using the thumbprint of the certificate, but it’s not prompting for my PIN, and just failing.

I am getting the error:

wraptool Error: pace::eden::thrift::exception::PaceThriftExceptionWire: BinaryDsigException::CodesignToolError, 14,
Error signing the specified binary., ossignaturewin.cpp, line 643, Can't sign with the certificate identified by the thumbprint 917ef4fd5c_REDACTED_a26cd002a80c040.

The thumbprint works when manually running signtool.exe on a file but I can’t get PACE to ask for the Yubikey PIN.

I’ve tried passing extra signing options to signtool to no avail.

Does anyone have any idea how to get around this? I tried removing the PIN requirement on the Yubikey, but didn’t have any luck.

Cheers!

You’ll need to contact PACE support about issues related to PACE due to non-disclosure agreements.

After a while of frustration, I tried passing in the --signtool parameter to use the .exe I use for the installer and that seems to have fixed the issue. Not sure why the default doesn’t work when it used to with a keyfile.

Can you be a bit more specific? I’m running into the same issue.

It’s pretty amazing that things like this fall by the wayside; key migration busted every one of my CI pipelines. Good stuff. :joy:

Update:
When passing --signtool manually and specifying a path I get further in the process. Signtool and my key manager want an sha256 hash and I can’t find any way to pass ‘/fd sha256’ through wraptool to signtool. What a damn nightmare, opening an incident with pace.

1 Like

Did you figure out how to pass fd through?
Having the same issue here :confused:

(Not to mention the issue of not requiring a pin for the yubikey)