Trying to compile juce app using makefiles rather than xcode

Background: I’m trying to port my app to mac[1], and one of the 3rd party libraries I use is giving me a massive headache in xcode. Given that I don’t need xcode’s IDE stuff as I primarily develop in MSVC, and I already have infrastructure in place to synchronize my make files for my linux builds, I’m quite happy to ditch xcode and work entirely with makefiles on the mac.

To get a feel for what I’m doing (I’m a total osx newb) I’m trying to make a lua premake for the juce demo. At this point I’m running into two problems that googling hasn’t resolved:

1. what should I have in my package list? I’m not sure how the macosx packages translate:

Currently I have:

“carbon”, “freetype”, “pthread”, “rt”, “CoreAudio”, “CoreMIDI”, “GL”, “GLU”,
“juce”

which is most likely gibberish, as well as incomplete.

1. when compiling I get :
==== Building JuceDemo ====
AudioDemo.cpp
/var/tmp//cc1o9QVq.s:486:invalid character '(' in mnemonic
/var/tmp//cc1o9QVq.s:516:invalid character '%' in mnemonic
make[1]: *** [build/intermediate/Debug/AudioDemo.o] Error 1
make: *** [JuceDemo] Error 2

I’m guessing that I’m missing something in my includes. I currently have

“/Developer/SDKs/MacOSX10.4u.sdk/Developer/Headers/FlatCarbon”

in addition to the standard /usr/include

Can any Mac gurus point me in the right direction?

[1] obRMS: My boss just bought me a shiny new mac, and I now have three flavours of linux, WinXP, and Win2k all installed under parallels[2]. Extremely cool! I wish I’d made the jump ages ago!

[2] Rather amazingly I can get away with WinXP, and Mandriva2007 running simultaneously inside MacOSX without significant loss in performance on any OS.

ooh, makefiles… I’ve never tried that on the mac. Is there perhaps a way to make xcode chuck out a makefile, and see what’s in there? Thing is, you tend to work with packages rather than bare libs, so xcode takes care of all the internal linking.