Application can't be Launched

Hi all,

Another Juce Noob here having issues. Literally only started creating a project today.

I have just started the tutorial:
Create a basic Audio/MIDI plugin, Part 2: Coding your plug-in.
https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_code_basic_plugin.html#tutorial_code_basic_plugin_gui_control

I am stuck at the step for ‘Create a simple GUI control’.
At this stage I should be able to compile in the code in the JUCE host editor and see a GUI window open with a vertical slider.
However, the ‘play’ button beside the Xcode icon (my IDE) is shaded out and hovering over it gives a tag that says “Application can’t be launched”. Command + B also does nothing. There are no other errors or warnings in Projucer.

This means I cannot proceed to the next step.

I have run examples without issue and have completed another tutorial, the MainComponentTutorial:
https://docs.juce.com/master/tutorial_main_component.html
This compiled and ran fine in Projucer.

I’m running JUCE v5.3.2 on OSX10.12.6

Any ideas what is wrong here?
I’m sure it is something simple that I’m just not aware of.
Any advice at all would be much appreciated.
Thank you in advance.

D.

Did you check the stand alone application build is enabled in the Projucer? If that is OK, you will also need to set Xcode to build and run the stand alone application, it may be set to for example “shared code”, “VST plugin” or “AU plugin” by default.

Hi Xenakios,

Thanks for the reply!
As I said in my initial post, I’m a complete noob to this, so thank you for your patience.

I’m looking for some way of seeing what my build options are, or where they are.
In the drop down ‘build’ tab there’s nothing that brings me to settings related to enabling stand alone application building. Also all the ‘gear wheel’ setting tabs in other areas of Projucer don’t seem to have anything relating to enabling stand alone application builds. But again, I could be missing something.