Can't build VST3 or AAX on Windows

I'm a bit of a noob, so perhaps this is a stupid question, but is anybody else having trouble building formats other than VST or AU? I've had no troubles building VSTs on my PC (Windows 10) and Audio Units on my Mac, but the compiler (Visual Studio 2015) simply does not build an AAX plugin at all. VST3 is the most confusing of all though. I find that if I choose to build DEBUG Win32, it will create a file with the extension VST3, but this is not an actual VST3 file. It is just a copy of the VST DLL but with the file extension changed so that the file is unusable. I tried building the audio plugin demo that comes with JUCE and it too built an unusable VST3 file in the exact same manner.

I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong. I installed the AAX SDK and I built the library files.

You should at least provide some errors or warnings you're getting from VS2015.

I've been building VST/VST3/RTAS/AAX/AU with latest JUCE (not daily checking it) and latest VS2015 and Xcode

I find that if I choose to build DEBUG Win32, it will create a file with the extension VST3, but this is not an actual VST3 file. It is just a copy of the VST DLL but with the file extension changed so that the file is unusable.

This is normal: VST and VST3 are the same binary but have different entry points into the dll. Therefore, JUCE just copies the VST dll and changes the file ending to .vst3. 

The most common reason for a plug-in not loading is that the architectures (64-bit vs. 32-bit) of the host and the plug-in do not match. 

You should at least provide some errors or warnings you're getting from VS2015.

I've been building VST/VST3/RTAS/AAX/AU with latest JUCE (not daily checking it) and latest VS2015 and Xcode

But there are no errors or warnings. It simply does not produce the AAX or VST3 binaries.