Creating a "DAW" for a piece of hardware

I want to preface my post by saying I am new to the software aspect of music composition. I know that what I am requesting help with is well beyond the realm of my abilities presently, and will likely take years to figure out, unless there is a simpler solution that I don’t know about, because again, I’m new to this.

Alright, let’s try to get my thoughts in order. So what I’m looking to do is create a DAW, or at least a way to visually compose electronic music in a small box with simple hardware controls. I’m not looking for something super expansive, or even to make the next big thing, on the contrary. I think that most people would scoff at my idea, as it’s really not wholly necessary…

Basically, I have some 8-bit VSTs that I like, and they have some affects, and I’d like to be able to take them wherever I go, mess about with them on trips, or on my break at work, without busting out my laptop, keyboard, charger, mouse. I really only Need like 10 tracks at the most, effects per track, no live recording, but rather putting the blocks on the piano roll (for lack of a better way of phrasing it while on sleep deprived mind). Something simple to interact with a few buttons and knobs. I’m willing to learn whatever it takes, even design my own plugins to work with it. I’m also not picky on platform, I was thinking Linux so I could run it off of a Raspberry Pi or similar if that was possible.

Ehh, I know this all might not be too coherent. Feel free to ask me more clarifying questions, and I’ll try to give an adequate response. Just any help, or pointing me in the right direction, or please tell me if this is just a dumb idea. All of it is helpful.