Development cycle of a audio plugin

Hi,
I’m new to Juce and wonder how the development cycle of a audio plugins looks like.

After a code change which you want to test, do you have to load the newly compiled plugin into some host each time to test it?
Or is there a faster way to speed up development? Because that would make the iteration cycle very slow.

That’s pretty much it. You can configure your IDE of choice so that it runs the DAW and then just have your DAW open with a default project containing your plugin on a track. With this you can run and step debug your plugin as you would any other program. You’ll also get debug output from the DAW/your plugin in your IDE.

FWIW, I use Reaper for this purpose. It’s the fastest DAW I’ve used for boot up.

The other plus for debugging this way is that you can configure your DAW project to have spectrum analysers and oscilloscopes etc already loaded along with any other plugins useful for dev.

A bit of a pain but it’s the way to go. If you’re not testing plugin related features, but purely GUI or DSP stuff, you can also consider building the plugin as a standalone app, that makes the process a lot faster. But since your users will be using it inside a DAW, it can’t hurt to test in that environment a lot.

JUCE comes with a very simple host called AudioPluginHost that starts up very fast that is useful for debugging.

1 Like

The standalone target is faster and more convenient for debugging for most cases, turnaround times significantly reduced.

2 Likes

often times you get away with just loading the standalone version of the plugin build to test your features. it builds the plugin into sort of a little pseudo host in order to act standalone. but that host has no sidechain inputs and no concept of a playhead (bpm, ppq etc) and ofc doesn’t let you come up with effect chains for different test scenarios of your plugin.