First Post

hi. That’s it. Valley, if you can… when I get around to putting up the full dev-c++ tutorial, can you sticky it? :slight_smile:

I wasn’t going to ask you to post that guide as it seemed presumptuos, but if you do post it, I’ll be happy to sticky it. 8)

btw, check your pms

Hmm, I’m never really sure what to say for my first post at a new forum, but I guess “Hi” will suffice. Most of the people coming here will be from KVR and know a little about each other already, but I’ve only got a handful of posts there, so I guess I’ll just introduce myself.

I’m a 19 year old (Senior) Computer Science student at the University of Minnesota. Most of my programming experience is in C++, which I started learning about 7 years ago, although I’ve done a bit of Java as well. I’ve only read about the basics of Win32 programming before, and it was a little intimidating for all but the most basic tasks. JUCE looks like a good way for me to get started making some real programs outside of school.

There’s no need for you guys to introduce yourselves though, since I’ve been lurking at KVR for close to a year now. Here’s hoping this forum grows, because I’ll probably be lost without some help from more experienced programmers.

I’m still fiddling around with this thing… I hope it all starts making sense soon. Thanks again for the tut Robert… and thanks valley for setting up a forum specifically for this. I think I’ve got a lot to learn… gonna have to hunt down my c++ for dummies (and yes, it’s the only c++ book I own). :wink:

Don’t worry MOD, I’m learning from 2 books. One is Sam’s 24 hour book, and the other is the C++ All In One Desk Reference For Dummies. Now, I’m not advanced at programming yet, but just know you are not the only one. The two books I mentioned are the easiest to read and understand for me so far. I also have a few charts, reference books, etc. to look things up in without re-reading whole sections just to find a syntax.

Koolkeys