How to allow Visual Studio to copy the VST2 to the correct folder? [SOLVED]

I’m new to using Visual Studio 2019 on Windows 10 (have been using MacOS up to now). I have it installed and configured, and I can compile a VST2 plugin successfully (have installed the legacy SDK).

I want to enable the step that copies the completed VST2 into the correct default location, which is:

C:\Program Files\VstPlugins

The folder exists, and I can manually put the VST in there and have it loaded by the AudioPluginHost.

In the Projucer, I have specified the above path as written in the field for “VST (Legacy) Binary Location” and enabled “Enable Plugin Copy Step”.

However, when building, I get an error that “Access is denied”:

1>------ Build started: Project: PanProcessorWidth_VST, Configuration: Debug x64 ------
1>PanProcessorWidth_VST.vcxproj -> C:\Users\sk\Documents\MY_JUCE\PanProcessorWidth05\Builds\VisualStudio2019\x64\Debug\VST\PanProcessorWidth.dll
1>Access is denied.
1>        0 file(s) copied.
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\Community\MSBuild\Microsoft\VC\v160\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(149,5): error MSB3073: The command "copy /Y "C:\Users\sk\Documents\MY_JUCE\PanProcessorWidth05\Builds\VisualStudio2019\x64\Debug\VST\PanProcessorWidth.dll" "C:\Program Files\VstPlugins\PanProcessorWidth.dll"
1>C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Visual Studio\2019\Community\MSBuild\Microsoft\VC\v160\Microsoft.CppCommon.targets(149,5): error MSB3073: :VCEnd" exited with code 1.
1>Done building project "PanProcessorWidth_VST.vcxproj" -- FAILED.
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Does anyone know what I must do to get this to work? I’m not much of a Windows guy…

EDIT: I am the administrator account…

Did you check the permissions of the folder? Your account needs to be able to write/modify.

Even if you are Administrator, Windows launches programs as normal user by default, mainly for security reasons.