Ideal setup for developing in linux, plugins, cross plat?

I’m interested in seeing how people who develop on linux are set up. Do you keep the JUCE source in your home folder, or put it in some shared directory? I’m really the only user on this machine, so I guess that doesn’t matter as much, but are there any good step-by-steps for getting a good environment going? I’m wondering if eclipse is a good option. I’m just having trouble figuring out my organization.

thanks guys!

EDIT: let me clarify. I actually would end up doing a lot of my testing on windows. Do any of you compile windows vst plugins from linux, using something like mingw? (I’ve never done this before, is it worth it, or should I just compile them from windows?). Basically I’d just like to get my workflow smooth before I get knee deep in code.

Eclipse is ‘OK’. It’s probably a good time to know it, since it’s becoming pretty standard with some systems. CodeBlocks is excellent - on a par with xcode and Visual Studio in many ways, I would recommend that.

As for going between the platforms, I suspect trying to share the actual source files is a bit of a nightmare. I have been using subversion for my project and for juce - then I can update each (or not) as needed. You always need internet access - that’s the main drawback.

If juce is moving to GIT (grumble grumble) then I may have to add another system.

Bruce

Hi Bruce,

I write variants of our products (Mixtikl/Noatikl/Liptikl) for Win, Mac and various mobile platforms.

I’m also doing some Android consultancy at the moment - under Eclipse :slight_smile: - which I used to hate but must admit that actually the way that the Android system works under it is very good (with powerful Java refactoring features; don’ t know what it is like for C++). I’ve also been doing quite a bit of Linux work recently, through VMs on a Windows XP host.