Is it practical to use Ableton as a host for testing?

I’m new to plugin development but I’m making good progress. I use Ableton Live Suite 9 for testing as I already own a license. But, one thing I have noticed is I have to restart Ableton each time I rebuild the plugin. This is very annoying.

Does anyone use a DAW for testing and have they faced a similar issue?

Thanks for any advice.

Hi imbase2,

I highly recommend the Juce’s own audio plugin host found in the examples folder for testing while developing, it’s fast to load both on Windows and Mac. :slight_smile:
You should, naturally, test the actual releases with as many hosts, machines, plugin formats and bitnesses as you have access to, I guess there’ll always be a curious number of unexpected bugs involved when releasing something cross-platform and cross-format.

Olli

1 Like

Thanks Ollierikkeskinen,

I will check out the plugin host. Cloning the repo from github now. I had read about it in earlier tutorials but never played with it. Sounds like it could make my life much easier.

Indeed it can! You can easily set it to open up for debugging in both VS and XCode after build. :slight_smile:

I personally use Reaper when wanting to run audio through the processor when developing, as it is another quick opener. But be warned that Reaper seems to handle plugins quite graciously even if they’re faulty, so it might not be the best option for serious testing.

1 Like

Also now that I started raving about my two cents, Reaper’s own JS-based audio processing system is excellent for producing test signals. Another great platform for this is Max 7, which I’ve used to build test signal scenarios and measurements.

I’d be very interested to hear what sort of workflow other people may be using!

1 Like

I use Max a lot. I love it. Max for Live also processes JS scripts. I’ve made a good few personal MIDI plugins using that. It was almost a revelation when I learned Max was coded with JUCE. I love this library!