What is your workflow while developing a plugin, since the IDE does not have any kind of GUI output

I am new to juce! and audio developing and i am curiouse how to have a good workflow while developing and debuging a plugin, since i have no display of the plugin in Xcode.

Should i put some kind of  post build intructions to copy the builted release from xcode to the final vst / au Folder? and then test on a normal Host?  this seems tedious but Is there a mac  Host you could recommend for this?

Maybe there might be a project which builds the plugin + a simple host just for this plugin which would be active while the plugin is being developed? 

Everything seems very new to me so if you got any  tips you could share about this  i would be really greatful.

Thank you!

1 Like

There's a few ways of achieving this, but one of the easiest is mentioned in the last post here: http://www.juce.com/forum/topic/how-debug-audio-plugin-project

If you are using Xcode you probably want to use AU LAB. 

I followed these instructions when I was starting out: 

http://sample-hold.com/2011/11/23/create-a-fft-analyzer-part-iv-debugging-our-audio-unit-with-au-lab/

Also check: http://superuser.com/questions/419449/cant-find-au-lab-on-mac

If you get it set up right it'll automatically load the right plugin, exactly where you left it, and when you hit rebuild AU Lab will quit quickly and restart with your new build all in the right place.  If you need more pointers let me know!

cheers, J. 

2 Likes

ok thank you! i am looking at it. This might be ridiculous, but if the plugin  runs ok in  AU Lab, may i assume that it will work well on all the other plugin formats supported by juce?

dee

i am Looking at alternatives to  SAVIHost and now looking at AU Lab Also!

Thank you, 

dee

I've had plugins work just fine in AU Lab, but then the same AU format fail in Ableton.  I just set Ableton up as the executable to debug, which worked fine (though it's not as quick to load as AU Lab)