New User having header problems on Debian Stretch

I have a student who’s been asked by a potential industrial supervisor to port his work to Juce (he has it working in Qt5) and build a VST plugin. I have no experience with Juce. I’ve apparently installed the necessary tools on my Debian Stretch laptop.

When I issue the make command in the directory where the Makefile was generated by Producer 4.3.0, I get a load of issues with header files. Taking the first example,

> Compiling juce_audio_formats.cpp
> In file included from ../../../../../../../usr/share/juce/modules/juce_audio_formats/juce_audio_formats.cpp:100:0,
>                  from ../../JuceLibraryCode/juce_audio_formats.cpp:9:
> ../../../../../../../usr/share/juce/modules/juce_audio_formats/codecs/juce_FlacAudioFormat.cpp:132:23: fatal error: flac/all.h: No such file or directory

This is failing because on my installation, the development deb package for libflac installs all.h to /usr/include/FLAC (upper case). I found out I could disable that audio driver in Projucer, then I get problems with /usr/include/jpeglib.h (Juce is looking for <jpglib/jpeglib.h>, so I can’t even get around it with compiler flags). There are many, many more similar issues

pkgtool is reporting everything correctly. For example:

nick@ariel:~$ pkg-config --libs flac
-lFLAC  

so I guess this is a debian packaging problem? Does anybody here use Juce on debian? How do you do it? I am not really prepared to make loads of bogus symlinks all over /usr or /usr/local.

Nick/.

The only reason you’d see that would be if you’ve set JUCE_INCLUDE_FLAC_CODE=0, but by default juce will just encapsulate all the flac code internally, and you don’t need to do or install anything to support it. I’d recommend that if you’re just starting, rather than trying to use the external version of it.

Very happy to use the easiest build method available :slight_smile: