Problems creating new target AU in XCode

Hi all:

I am a Juce newbie, and am struggling with XCode. Here’s the details:

• I can get the Juce example plugins to compile for AU, Mac VST, and Windows VST.
  • I have my own plugin running as a Windows VST.
  • I am having a lot of problems taking the example AU project, and using it to compile my new plugin.

Specific issues:

• If I try to rename the existing Target, things work well, but if I try to rename the .component file under Products, it will either disallow this (XCode 2.5) or crash (XCode 3.0).
  • If I duplicate the existing Target, I still am unable to rename the .component.
  • Creating a new Target from scratch works, but I am unsure how to get the files I need within the .component.

This might be basic XCode stuff, but I am only using XCode for this product, as I am much more used to VisualStudio and other products (VisualDSP++, CodeComposer for TI).

Ideally, I would like to have a single project file with multiple Targets, one for each of my plugins.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. I would like to use Juce commercially (the Windows plugin I created works nicely), but I want to have both the Mac and Windows side up and running before purchasing.

Thanks,

Sean Costello

Yes, XCode is a bit of a shock when you’re used to visual studio!

I think the name of the output .component is somewhere in the list of build settings, you can’t edit it directly.

double click the target under the “targets” node. Go to the Build tab, change the “Product Name” field.

For multiple targets it’s a bit unlike Visual Studio because there’s only one project. Each source file in the project has flags as to whether or not it is to be built into the various targets. This can be edited in 3 ways I remember off hand:

1. When you add or create the file, you pick the targets.
  2. In the file’s info window and “targets” tab.