Starting a New Project the JUCE Way

I’ve been looking through the docs and the discussion and as someone just starting with JUCE, I’d like a quick summary of the updated/current views on JUCE development in general. What’s the current “best practice” for developing a new app?

Specifically, should it start with JUCER?

And then should JUCER used to maintain the project going forward? From some of the postings here, it seems was/is the general recommended approach. Correct?

What are you using for code editors on Windows (Visual Studio)?

And finally, the licensing stuff. I’m working on a project I hope to be able to sell as a commercial product, eventually, however for months, or years, I expect it to be a hobbyist/home project. I’m a 25+ year software developer starting this as a home project, hoping I can use JUCE to propel it forward for multiple platforms at an accelerated rate. JUCE seems perfect for it. However, I’m assuming that I can use JUCE, for free, while developing it, but will need to purchase a commercial license prior to the first sale. Is this correct? (I’m hesitant to spend the large personal license cost for this “hobbyist” home project until I have something in-hand that I think is finally worth selling.)

Thanks for your assistance on this. Looks like a great development platform, and community here.

Yes, I think the new Jucer is the way to do it now - although it’s still in development, I’m using it to manage all my projects, and it’s been working great so far.

Yep. The GPL specifically lets you use the code privately - you’d only need a commercial license if you want to distribute a binary file without the accompanying source-code.

Glad you’re enjoying it!

Thanks for the info on general approaches and on the licensing. This is the ideal environment for me.