Basic ASIO setup producing error: Cannot open include file: 'iasiodrv.h'

Hi,

I’m fairly new to JUCE, and I would like to create a project with ASIO capabilities. However, when I create a new project using the projucer, and try to build it in visual studio (2019), I immediately get an error:

Cannot open include file: 'iasiodrv.h'

Can anybody help me with this? Other projects I’ve created don’t have this issue, only when I try to include ASIO. Here is what I did:

1. Open projucer > File > New Project… > GUI Application
  2. Change target platform from VS 2017 to VS 2019, click create…
  3. Go to modules > juce_audio_devices > JUCE_ASIO, and change it from “Default (Disabled)” to “Enabled”.
  4. Save and Open the project in visual studio 2019.
  5. Run. Get Error.

Thanks,
Johnny.

You need the ASIO SDK.

Check out juce_audio_devices.cpp around line 100; the comments there explain why you have to get the necessary header files from Steinberg.

I generally copy the header files from the ASIO SDK into my Visual Studio project folder and then add

$(ProjectDir)

to my header search paths in the Projucer.

Matt

1 Like

Thanks for that pointer, that’s really useful to know.

Can you be a little bit more specific about how I should copy the files into my VS project folder? I don’t have much experience using SDKs apart from JUCE, but they make it really easy. Should I copy the contents of the “common” folder (from the ASIO download) into my “Source” folder in VS, alongside “Main.cpp” etc? Or can I put them in a more contained folder somehow?

Thanks,
Johnny

This is the mentioned comment in the code:

So IIUC in the windows exporter, add to Extra compiler flags: -IC:\\path\\ASIO\\common

haven’t tried that recently

Okay, so I managed to figure this issue out. Here’s what ended up working:

1. With the project open in the projucer, go to Modules > juce_audio_devices, and set JUCE_ASIO to “Enabled”.