Learning C++

Hola,

Hi all, a bit off-topic, but hope someone can help.
I’ve been putting off learning C++ for ooh, about ten years, and figure now might be the time to try. I love the look and feel of Juce, and gather it may make my C++ life easier at first in the gui department, and then later in other ways.

I’ve coded a bit over the years, but mostly in what people consider the noddy languages - originally zx spectrum basic (back in the 80s!) then after a considerable break things like VB6 and various web scripting languages like asp, javascript, php, shell scripts, a bit of perl etc. So i’m not completely clueless, but very much so in terms of pointers, memory management, grown up stuff.

I know this is the wrong forum for noddy C++ questions, so can someone point me towards a friendly beginners C++ forum where I can ask those?

Cheers. Pointers on good basics tutorials / books would also be welcome.

chico

Please check this out.
http://www.rawmaterialsoftware.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=847

Good luck! It’s been nearly 20 years since I learned c++, so the memories of how hard it was have mostly faded now…

I feared coding in C++, and tried to avoid it as far as possible. The first time I coded in C++ I used MFC, which most probably was the main contributor to this fear.

I started using JUCE, and my perception of C++ changed completely. It was then that I realised that its not actually C++ I feared, its more the crummy C++ implementations that are provided.

Now, with the C++ experience I gained with the beautiful JUCE implementation (and the excellent documentation), I have moved onto C kernel programming, and quite enjoy it. A few years ago I never ever would have pictured myself in this position.